Private Hearing

Hearing aid aftercare: what is included, and for how long? (2026)

Last reviewed 5 October 2026 by Pete, editor (not a clinician). Prices checked 5 October 2026.

NHS aids are free after referral, with free batteries, repairs and follow-up. Private aftercare differs: on 5 October 2026, Specsavers (pairs from £500) listed a four-year warranty, Boots (from £695) lifetime aftercare, Audika a 24-month warranty. Lost aids and out-of-warranty repairs can cost extra. In July 2026, 41.5% waited six weeks or more for an NHS assessment.

  • England
  • Independent
  • Not a clinic
  • Not the NHS
Aftercare and warranty by provider, checked 5 October 2026
Provider typeTest priceAid from-priceAftercareSourceDate checked
NHS NHS audiology, after a GP referral (or self-referral where your area allows it)FreeFree, on long-term loan. Usually behind-the-ear; occasionally receiver-in-the-earBatteries, repairs and follow-up appointments free. There may be a charge to replace a lost or broken aidnhs.uk5 October 2026
Audika Hearing-care chain (Hidden Hearing and Amplifon UK are now Audika)Free, age 19 and overNo from-price published. Audika says it "can't give you an exact price" before a testServicing for the life of the aid; 24-month warranty; 60-day money-back guarantee; batteries free for three years. Optional Oneplan cover from £75 a yearaudika.co.uk5 October 2026
Boots Hearingcare High-street pharmacy chainFree in storeFrom £695 a pair (Essentials). Rechargeable from £995. Top tier from £4,195Lifetime aftercare; up to four years' warranty; 90-day money-back guarantee; annual hearing testsbootshearingcare.com5 October 2026
Specsavers High-street optician chainFree in storeFrom £500 a pair (Advance range). Listed models up to £3,000 a pair. Rechargeable from £1,000Aftercare with a two-year follow-up; four-year warranty; 100-day money-back guarantee; charger or four years' batteriesspecsavers.co.uk5 October 2026
All About Hearing Independent audiologist, Suffolk£30 hearing screening (30 minutes, pass or fail) or £60 comprehensive assessment (75 minutes)Devices from £999. The page does not say whether that is per aid or per pairFitting, manufacturer warranty and an aftercare programme included. Length not statedallabouthearing.co.uk5 October 2026
The Hearing Specialist Independent audiologist, south-west London (four clinics)£59 assessmentFrom £1,695 a pair. Single aids from £798. Premium tier up to £4,400 a pairFour-year warranty and four years of unlimited aftercare includedthehearingspecialist.co.uk5 October 2026
  • Boots Hearingcare: The same Boots page also says, in general terms, that private aids "typically start from around £695 per device". Its own price line says £695 per pair. Ask for the quote in writing. (checked 5 October 2026)
  • Specsavers: Specsavers says other levels of branded technology are available beyond the models it lists, so £3,000 is the top of its published list, not a ceiling. (checked 5 October 2026)

Each row is the provider's own published wording, opened by Pete on 5 October 2026. Rows are grouped by type and listed alphabetically within each type. That is not a ranking. Prices are for a pair unless the row says otherwise. A provider may change a price at any time; its written quote is what counts. We delete a row we cannot re-open. Listing a provider here does not mean it is a partner of ours. Full list on Sources.

What can this site do, and what can it not do?

This is not medical advice. We are not a clinic, not the NHS, not an audiologist and not a hearing-aid shop. We do not test hearing, fit aids, diagnose, read an audiogram or hold an appointment. We cannot tell you whether a hearing aid would help you.

Do not use this form if you have sudden hearing loss in one ear, sudden dizziness with hearing loss, or bleeding from the ear. NICE guideline NG98 (last updated 2 October 2023) says hearing loss that came on over three days or less, within the last 30 days, should be seen by a specialist within 24 hours. Ask for a same-day GP appointment, call 111, or go to A&E.

What we can do: show the prices we opened and dated, explain the NHS and private routes, and, if you ask, pass your request to one independent audiology clinic that covers your area. That is free for you. The clinic may pay us.

How does asking a clinic to contact you work?

  1. Test or aids. A hearing test tells you where you stand. Hearing aids are a separate decision after it. The test is often free; the aids are where the cost is.
  2. One ear or both. Say which. A change in one ear only is worth raising with a GP first. How many aids, if any, is for you and the audiologist after the test.
  3. Clinic or home. Most people go to a clinic. A home visit is a different product. No partner clinic takes home-visit requests yet, so we only pass on clinic requests.
  4. Ask one clinic to contact you. Use the form. One partner clinic may call or email you. Nothing is booked until you agree a time and a price with them.

What aftercare comes with NHS hearing aids?

The NHS website (page last reviewed 18 October 2023, opened 5 October 2026) says NHS hearing aids are free on long-term loan, batteries and repairs are free, and "you do not have to pay for any follow-up appointments or aftercare". There may be a charge if you lose or break an aid and it needs replacing. Batteries and repairs come from the NHS service that fitted the aids, by appointment or sometimes by post.

NICE guideline NG98 (last updated 2 October 2023) recommends, in 1.7.1, a face-to-face follow-up "6 to 12 weeks after the hearing aids are fitted", by phone if you prefer. At that appointment the service should "tell the person how to contact audiology services in the future for aftercare, including repairs and adjustments" (1.7.2).

What aftercare do private providers include?

Each provider's own words, checked 5 October 2026. We have not added anything they do not say.

  • Specsavers: aftercare "conducted at no charge", meaning in-store tuning, comfort adjustments and support; a four-year warranty that excludes accidental damage; a 100-day money-back guarantee from the date of fitting; and four years of batteries for non-rechargeable aids. Its price page describes "full aftercare, including a two-year follow-up".
  • Boots Hearingcare: "a lifetime of aftercare". Boots says it will invite you annually, retest your hearing every two years, and that "all appointments are free-of-charge". Up to four years' warranty and a 90-day money-back guarantee.
  • Audika: free servicing for the lifetime of the aid, a 24-month warranty, a 60-day money-back guarantee, free batteries for three years and free annual hearing tests. Audika recommends a check-up every six months.
  • The Hearing Specialist (independent, south-west London): a four-year warranty and "4 years of unlimited aftercare", with all follow-up adjustments included.
  • All About Hearing (independent, Suffolk): fitting, manufacturer warranty and an aftercare programme included. The length is not stated.

Why does the length of aftercare matter?

Because the price buys the package, not just the aids. The clinic's money is usually in the aids, and aftercare is part of what you pay for. Compare the years of warranty, what the warranty leaves out, how long batteries are included, and the money-back period. See hearing aid cost for the prices next to each package.

What costs extra after you buy?

  • Losing or breaking an aid. On the NHS there may be a charge. Specsavers' four-year warranty excludes accidental damage. Audika's Oneplan covers theft, damage and loss for a yearly fee, from £75 a year (checked 5 October 2026).
  • Repairs out of warranty. Audika says repair charges apply once an aid is out of warranty and not covered by Oneplan (checked 5 October 2026).
  • Batteries after any included period, unless the aids are rechargeable.
  • Wax removal. A different appointment. Specsavers' terms mention £55 for wax removal in store and £85 at a home visit, refunded against aids bought within 30 days (checked 5 October 2026).

Can I get aftercare somewhere other than where I bought?

Sometimes. The Hearing Specialist says it services, adjusts and repairs "most makes and models, even if you didn't buy them from us" (checked 5 October 2026). NHS aids are looked after by the NHS service that fitted them. Ask any other clinic before you go.

What should I ask before I buy?

  • How many years of aftercare and warranty are included, and what is excluded?
  • Are follow-up appointments free, and how often are they?
  • What happens if I lose an aid, and is there cover for that?
  • How long is the money-back period, and does it start at purchase or fitting?
  • Can I have adjustments done remotely?

Is hearing aid aftercare free?

On the NHS, yes: the NHS website says batteries, repairs and follow-up appointments are free, though there may be a charge to replace a lost or broken aid. Privately, aftercare is usually included in the price for a set period, and the length differs by provider.

How long does private hearing aid aftercare last?

It depends on the provider. On 5 October 2026, Boots Hearingcare said lifetime aftercare, The Hearing Specialist four years, Audika lifetime servicing with a 24-month warranty, and Specsavers a four-year warranty with aftercare at no charge.

Is a lost hearing aid covered by the warranty?

Usually not. Specsavers' warranty excludes accidental damage, the NHS may charge for a replacement, and Audika sells separate cover called Oneplan. Check what is covered in writing.

Want one clinic to call you? Request a private hearing appointment. Free for you; the clinic may pay us.